UK Handmade Round Robin Creature Swap

Finally I’ve got round to writing my blog about our UK Handmade creature swap. I really enjoyed it because each stage had an element of surprise. There were 4 of us in the team and we each got to have a go at all stages.

So, the rules were quite simple:

  1. Describe a creature – post to next person
  2. Draw a picture of the description you receive – post on
  3. Make the creature from the description & pic you receive – post on
  4. Add the features to the creature you recieve – post on
  5. This is where you get back the creature you originally described and have a chance to add any final details before posting  back to the host…

So, here is my most excellent creature, I love him to bits and I don’t want to send him off yet! I’ve christened him INKY

Stage 1: Description
Stage 2: Drawing
Stage 3 & 4: Made up creature with features added
Stage 5: Inky with his new boots on
Close up of those lovely Inky ears!

<<<A BIG THANK YOU TO MY FELLOW ROUND ROBINERS FOR CREATING SUCH A GORGEOUS LITTLE CREATURE AND A SPECIAL THANK YOU TO OLLY FOR HOSTING>>>

Olly from Wöllies for such an imaginative and magical drawing
Wöllies Blog ~~~ Wöllies Folksy Shop
Kathleen from Murgatroyd & Bean for such a perfectly stitched body
Murgatroyd & Beans Blog ~~~ Murgatroyd & Beans Folksy Shop
Julia from Hand Knitted Things for giving Inky his personality
Hand Knitted Things Blog

If you like the idea of Round Robins and Swaps there are always lots of opportunities to take part in such things at UK Handmade. Why not join up, it’s free and a great way to make links with other crafters. 🙂

Share

8 Responses to “UK Handmade Round Robin Creature Swap”


  1. 1 Kella 29/05/2010 at 5:13 pm

    Well I just saw him in the flickr account and gushed all over him in an overly girly way and like I said there, girly I am not, but he is most addorable in everyway. I can’t wait to see the other creations, you girls do great work together.

  2. 2 averilpam 29/05/2010 at 5:13 pm

    Wow, Inky is just gorgeous, I want him!! He is beautifully made and matches the original description perfectly – and I love his boots 🙂

  3. 3 susie morrow 29/05/2010 at 9:51 pm

    Shaz you are so talented!

  4. 4 joehurrycreations 29/05/2010 at 10:36 pm

    I was so excited to see the result of this Round Robin Creature Swap. It turned out so well and everyone must have had such a cool time!

    Great work all of you!

  5. 5 Baye 30/05/2010 at 12:39 am

    I’m so jealous! I’ve just begun my creature making. Thanks for more inspiration.

  6. 6 Olly 30/05/2010 at 9:42 pm

    OMG he is literally AMAZING!!! I love him love him love him! His boots, especially. Xx

  7. 7 Anna Stassen 01/06/2010 at 6:29 pm

    This is fantastic and a really wonderful, creative project! Do you guys want to do a write up about this round robin creature swap for the UK Handmade Blog? If so I’d love to hear from you, get in touch: editor@ukhandmade.co.uk

    Anna Stassen


  1. 1 Social Media & Creativity – UKHandmade « The sock garden Trackback on 05/05/2011 at 8:33 pm

Leave a comment




Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,296 other subscribers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy