The Wind in the Willows… in Socks

Last week someone asked me if I had any Sock Badgers for sale. I didn’t, and hadn’t made one before so I Googled off to do a bit of badger image research so that I could have a go at making one.

Some of the pics I’d been looking at were for the dear little creatures from Kenneth Grahame’s enchanting story The Wind in the Willows. So when badger was finished I thought I’d quite like to have a go at making his friends too.

Now I have a full set and they’re all dressed up too in little outfits made from bits of leftover sock, fleece, ribbon, buttons and fabric.

Mole even has a wee pair of wire specs! (He’s my favourite).

I’ve really enjoyed creating these soft characters. If anyone has any ideas of other famous and cute creatures I could try making, I’d love to hear your suggestions.

12 Responses to “The Wind in the Willows… in Socks”


  1. 1 Treacher Creatures 24/05/2011 at 8:34 pm

    These are fantastic. I think the white rabbit from Alice in wonderland and Yoda from Star wars would also make great sock characters…or the Clangers too.

    • 2 thesockgarden 24/05/2011 at 8:57 pm

      Oh yes, I love the Clangers – I have one on my craft shelf – you can press it’s tummy & it does the Clanger sound! They’re going on my list, thank you 🙂

  2. 3 giddystuff 24/05/2011 at 9:04 pm

    These are amazing! I love Toad’s eyes and his fancy cravat, and Mole is adorable.

  3. 4 Kate 24/05/2011 at 9:06 pm

    Oh I love toad so much! My daughter’s suggested schnizel von krumm with a very low tum

    kate x

    • 5 thesockgarden 26/05/2011 at 4:54 pm

      Well thanks for the intro to Schnizel von Krumm! What a cute little sausage he is – I shall put him on my list to try out. Shaz x

  4. 6 Baye 24/05/2011 at 11:30 pm

    I love them all! What a great gift it would be along with the book.

  5. 8 Konnie Kapow! 25/05/2011 at 4:47 pm

    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah I love toad!!!!!!!!!! Are you going to sell these?

    • 9 thesockgarden 26/05/2011 at 5:01 pm

      Thanks Connie 🙂 I’m going to keep this set but I think I’ll make more for the shop. My excuse for keeping them is that I will need the original set to model from! x

  6. 10 {Dab and a dash.} 26/05/2011 at 1:15 pm

    My sons play this year is wind in the willows, we are eagerly waiting to see which part he gets. These are great. Are they in your shop??

    what about rupert bear characters.

    • 11 thesockgarden 26/05/2011 at 4:58 pm

      What a lovely play to put on – I hope he enjoys the part he gets and thank you for the Rupert character suggestion. I’ve just been searching for some pics and came across the spooky little character called Raggety – I remember being quite scared of him as a child – but I think he’d be brilliant to try out as a sock creature or textile creature. My list is certainly getting longer! No, I haven’t put them in my shop – I quite fancied keeping them. But now I’ve made one set I shall probably create some more. x

  7. 12 Fiona 24/07/2015 at 11:20 pm

    These are adorable. I am about to use this book with my class at school. Let me know if you have a set of sock characters available to buy as they would be lovely to have in my classroom whilst we read the book.


Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,289 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

hen brooch

fuschia

amigurumi dogs

More Photos

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

