Sock Dragon & Vampire Monkey

I keep meaning to write a little post about these brilliant drawings by my god-daughter, she did them a few months ago when she was 8. She’s definitely got a talent with paper and pencil. I thought they were just right to work up into sock versions. This one is Rocky the Dragon, I particularly like his eye detail and great big toothy grin…

photo

IMGP7580

and this one is a rather scary vampire monkey, complete with scars, wounds and squirting blood!

evil sock monkey

vampire monkey

I really enjoyed making these from her drawings. I took a photo of each one alongside the drawing and put them into picture frames so she had Rocky the Sock Dragon and her brother had Vampire Sock Monkey for their 9th birthdays (a couple of days before Christmas).

I gave her a set of Sharpie pens and drawing pad for Xmas so I’m hoping I might get to see some new creature designs 🙂 Hint Hint!

4 Responses to “Sock Dragon & Vampire Monkey”


  1. 1 bayeaston 18/01/2013 at 9:15 pm

    Those drawings are impressive especially for such a young age. (Sad to say, she already has me beat in the drawing department.) My niece was like that. As it turned out, she became an high school art teacher!

    I do love all the details in these creatures. You did a great job of getting them to resemble the drawings. I can’t imagine how you got that dragon head shape, but it’s perfect. Like the flattened limbs, too. Cool cape on the vampire monkey!

  2. 2 trees000 18/01/2013 at 10:42 pm

    The drawings and creatures are good!

  3. 3 kevin 20/01/2013 at 4:22 am

    Awesome!

  4. 4 Sarah 20/01/2013 at 12:39 pm

    Lucy grinned from ear to ear reading this, she feels famous :0) x


Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,288 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

hen brooch

fuschia

amigurumi dogs

More Photos

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

