Fabulous Fabric Fish & Baskets

I’m doing a bit of multi-tasking this afternoon. My computer desk and sewing machine table sit next to each other so I’m alternating between listing some new fabric fish in my OddSox Folksy shop, and sewing together some fabric baskets with freemotion birds on the front.

The fish are made from a collection of really lovely fabrics. The 100% cotton fabric came as a ‘jelly roll’ (I think that’s what it’s called anyway) – which is about 40 strips of complementary patterns and colours 44″ long x 2.5″ wide from the  ‘Howard Marcus for Moda’ range. I think they are often used for quilt making but I don’t have the patience to make such a large item so fish it is!

Just got the blue ones left to list now…

This is my first batch of fabric baskets, they just need to have the ‘turning inside out hole’ sewn shut by hand. These will be coming along to my craft fairs which start next month.

After the fish listing I’ll be putting more new sock creatures and amigurumi cuties into the shop over the next couple of days – please do pop by and have a look.

Thank you and have a good weekend 🙂

4 Responses to “Fabulous Fabric Fish & Baskets”


  1. 1 grrl+dog 15/09/2012 at 1:41 am

    What a great way to use a jelly roll.. I adore moda fabricds and have to avoid the quilt shop, even when it’s Fat Quarter Friday and they gove you 2 for one…

  2. 2 bayeaston 16/09/2012 at 2:09 pm

    Love these fish! Wish I lived closer so I could buy your stuff at craft shows! Maybe you could consider selling pdfs of your pattern for this?? Please! I can think of a dozen ways to use tons of these beauties.

    • 3 thesockgarden 16/09/2012 at 5:20 pm

      That’s a great idea, I shall write it on my ‘to-do’list for when the Xmas craft fairs are over 🙂

      • 4 Barbara Young Easton 18/09/2012 at 3:08 pm

        Great! I can’t remember when an item got so many ideas flowing for me. I wish I had some of these for the loaves and fishes story when teaching Sunday School classes. They would have held the little ones attention. First on my list, though, will be hanging a few from the bottom of a “Gone Fishing” sign for friends who who would always rather be fishing.. Wouldn’t that be fun to have a few hanging from fishing line?

        Hope you have an awesome Christmas craft season!


Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,289 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

hen brooch

fuschia

amigurumi dogs

More Photos

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

