Mouse Poll – Update

UPDATE – Wednesday 14th March 19:42

Hello again and thank you to everyone who helped me out with the mouse poll at the end of this post.

Most people seemed to think that I should try both magnets and brooches – although individual votes suggested magnets were more popular. I have a craft fair on Saturday so I think I’ll try magnets with the ones I’ve prepared so far.

There were some suggestions to make bookmarks. I’ve been investigating sourcing those giant paperclip bookmarks that have a metal pad to affix the decoration to but I’m having real trouble finding a UK supplier – if anyone knows one I’d love to hear. Blooming Felt do them but at £4.50 each I think I’d be looking for a different solution! There are quite a few overseas Etsy sellers who have them so I might have to go for that option. I liked your idea Baye, of having an extra long tail with a cute bow at the end!

I really liked the idea of using them as applique items to fabric notebook covers. I’ve started making purses and fabric baskets with applique bits on so I might try some with mice too.

As promised I’ve done one of those Random Number Generator thingy’s to pick a name from those of you who commented and the winner is

I will message you Aunty Joan so you can send me your address and I’ll pop the little brown mouse magnet on my noticeboard pic in the post for you. Thank you.

ORIGINAL POST….

Hello 🙂 This week I’ve been making some freemotion embroidered mice to the same design as my doorstop ‘Door-mice’. They’re about 2.5″ in height and hold a little string tail to emulate the Door-mice who hold their cord tails.

Could you help me with a quick poll. I can’t decide whether to make them into magnets for fridge/notice boards, or should I make them into brooches? Or maybe a few of each. I’d welcome any other ideas you think might work too if you wouldn’t mind leaving me a quick comment. Here are a few pics…

Little mice with a Door-Mouse

Mice for finishing

Finished Mice

Mouse as a brooch

Mouse as a magnet

Thank you for your time and help…

If you have a personal preference – please say in the comments and I’ll pick a name out of a hat by midweek (14th March) and send someone their choice 🙂

20 Responses to “Mouse Poll – Update”


  1. 1 Silvia 10/03/2012 at 5:16 pm

    I really think both is the way to go. That way you get a bit of diversity as well

  2. 2 pip 10/03/2012 at 5:37 pm

    I think both 🙂 If I’m chosen could I have a fridge mouse magnet please ^..^

  3. 3 Dawn Hickey aka Aunty Joan 10/03/2012 at 5:38 pm

    Definitely both, my preference for colour are the brown ones. :o)
    Good luck they are pretty.

  4. 4 Natalie 10/03/2012 at 5:39 pm

    I agree, they would be cute either way! I think they would make lovely book marks too, but then I would like them on a handbag too, hee hee, can you tell I like them!?!

    Natalie x

  5. 5 colleen 10/03/2012 at 5:42 pm

    I love both ideas, sooo uber cute :o) xxxx

  6. 6 cassie bowman 10/03/2012 at 5:44 pm

    I think they make lovely little brooches but could see people buying them as magnets as well.

  7. 7 Angie Thompson 10/03/2012 at 6:37 pm

    Applique on note book covers.

  8. 8 Linda 10/03/2012 at 7:42 pm

    I think they would be great as both magnets and brooches.
    Appliqued on notebook covers as suggested by Angie is a great idea too. They are very cute.

    Linda

  9. 9 Emma Rogerson 10/03/2012 at 8:08 pm

    I think they make lovely fridge magnets !

  10. 10 Susan Howarth 10/03/2012 at 8:22 pm

    Love both suggestions. A few of each will give you a good chance of selling them. Good luck!

    Susan xxx

  11. 11 susan 10/03/2012 at 9:10 pm

    Definitely both, you might as well. They would also make great keyrings.

  12. 12 Sonia Adam 10/03/2012 at 9:24 pm

    I think they would work either as a brooch or a magnet but if I were to choose, I’d go for magnets!

  13. 13 Baye 10/03/2012 at 10:08 pm

    Both! I agree about the bookmark idea, too. An extra long tail hanging for a bookmark would be fun (with a tiny bow on the end, please).

  14. 14 Clootielugs 10/03/2012 at 10:25 pm

    These mices are adorable…you really want me to pick a favourite?? Well, if I must, I’ll plump for the magnets… but hard pressed to choose, they are such a cute design! xx

  15. 15 averilpam 11/03/2012 at 12:19 am

    I love them! I think they’d be great as both brooches and magnets. If I win I’d like a magnet 🙂

  16. 16 Handbagsbyhelen 11/03/2012 at 9:35 am

    I think magnets would be best. But them I don’t really ‘get’ fabric brooches – so it’s probably just me.

  17. 17 clare 11/03/2012 at 9:39 am

    so cute, can see a fridge covered in them!

  18. 18 Vicki Gregory 11/03/2012 at 6:39 pm

    They look cute as magnets, but as an appliqued thang too, personally I’m not keen on the brooch idea. They’re all lovely – and obviously other people think so too!! 🙂

  19. 19 Kate 12/03/2012 at 5:47 pm

    I LOVE these meece!! they have to be both! My fridge would definitely be much improved with meeces all over it!

  20. 20 Jewellery By Jora 13/03/2012 at 10:01 pm

    I love the fridge magnets but I voted both because, well….why not?!


Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,289 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

