Tiger theTortoiseshell Cat – Sock Portrait

Tiger posing for the camera

This is Tiger. Recently her lovely owner sent me this request:

I have a beautiful tortoiseshell cat called Tiger and I would love a sock cat in her colours. She has a white bib with lots of ginger tabby and dark tabby markings. I don’t expect an exact replica – but is this something you could do? Just to be difficult, her left leg is white but her right leg is mainly that lovely ginger tabby colour with a white paw – she’s very fashion conscious!

I love challenges like this so of course I replied yes and we swapped a few emails about sock shopping and cat colours before I started. Eventually I found a pair of socks that I thought were quite close to tortoiseshell, in a tiger stripe design. I chose to attach the legs with buttons as this gives a little bit of posability (don’t think that’s a real word but never mind!). This was stage one that went back for commenting by the ‘real’ Tiger and her owner.

Sock Tigerpuss Stage 1

Her Furry Ladyship recommended an adjustment to her white area as this reaches all the way under her chest almost to her back legs. And she also quite fancied having a red or orange ribbon around her neck.

So we all decided on some white fun fur for the alteration and Tiger chose a lovely red velvet for the neck ribbon. Here’s the finished Sock Tigerpuss who is now thoroughly at home with ‘real’ Tiger and my lovely new customer. 🙂

Sock Tigerpuss enjoying the sunshine
Sock Tigerpuss showing off her velvet bow
Is that a bird under the bush?
Sock Tigerpuss sitting pretty

I really enjoyed this project and it’s been a pleasure chatting through the details with Tigers’ ‘Mum’ . Thank you T & L 🙂

If any readers would like to commission a Sock Portrait of their pet I’d be happy to chat it through – just leave a comment here or you can message me on Facebook or via my Folksy shop – OddSox and I’ll get back to you.

6 Responses to “Tiger theTortoiseshell Cat – Sock Portrait”


  1. 1 Adien Crafts 11/08/2011 at 6:12 pm

    Fabulous, Followed you from Folksy and saw your Sock Cat. I love him! How great that he is so personal to the customer, she’ll treasure him I’m sure. Di x

  2. 3 Baye 12/08/2011 at 2:43 am

    Wow! I liked the first one, but that furry fabric really kicks it up a notch. The final product is outstanding. The buttons for posability (I like that unword) were an excellent choice.

  3. 4 Penny 15/08/2011 at 1:50 pm

    Wow! that’s amazing. What a challenge, you’ve really captured theTigeryness!

  4. 5 thebutterflyhobbyist 15/08/2011 at 3:44 pm

    I think he is lovely! Well done.

  5. 6 Julie Cartwright 03/09/2011 at 10:57 pm

    I love the sock tiger puss what great creation. I like the way you display your work here too.


Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,289 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

