Experimenting with Free Motion Sewing

I’ve been wanting to have a go at free motion sewing for ages now, and I finally got around to it recently. I had to improvise with my sewing machine a bit as I don’t have the correct foot for free motion, it involved lowering the feed dogs and working without a foot – a bit scary when your fingers start getting close to the needle! The results are a bit shaky but I think that’s part of the charm of it really – it’s not supposed to be perfect!

It certainly had me absorbed for quite some time trying out different coloured threads, fabrics, paper, shapes and lettering. After I’d done a few I turned a couple of them into little lavender hangers – I’m using the bird one as a pincushion…

And then I decided to make some of these fabric baskets and apply a bird to each one. They’re now sitting on the shelf above my sewing machine stuffed with all kinds of crafty things – threads, buttons, ribbons and felt.

You can probably tell I quite enjoyed making the little birds! I’ll definitely be making more of these baskets, they’re so useful. Now I’m comfortable with the pattern I’m hoping it should be easy enough to adapt it to different sizes.

The pattern for the baskets is from a lovely book called Zakka Sewing (25 Japanese projects for the household) by Therese Laskey & Chika Mori.

I’m experimenting with free motion sewing at a smaller size now and using my badge machine to make fabric badges rather than the usual paper ones. I’ll do another blog with some of the results another day 🙂

5 Responses to “Experimenting with Free Motion Sewing”


  1. 1 So Resourceful 11/05/2011 at 4:48 pm

    Oh wow I love those birdies, especially on the baskets! Did you sew the birds onto white fabric and then cut them out and sew them onto the baskets? What about the legs? Are they sewn directly onto the baskets? And the coloured wings, is that fabric too? Sorry for all the questions, Ijust love them and so want to copy you! Thanks for sharing

    • 2 thesockgarden 12/05/2011 at 5:28 pm

      Hiya, glad you like the birdies 🙂 I cut a piece of fabric in the shape I wanted the bird and sewed it directly onto the basket, and continued sewing the legs, beak & tail all in one go. Then I added a different bit of coloured fabric for the wing (I sewed it onto the flat basket fabric). Good luck if you have a go – it is fun!

  2. 3 Kaz 11/05/2011 at 10:19 pm

    Blimey mrs, there’s no stopping you these days. Love your birdie baskets 🙂

  3. 4 Konnie Kapow 12/05/2011 at 12:09 pm

    These are awesome! Well done you!


  1. 1 Sewing Sales & Information Site. » Brother Sasew Machine Sewing Needles Trackback on 12/05/2011 at 6:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,289 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

