Melancholy clay characters by Gillian Lee Smith

Last weekend I attended a craft and commissions fair in my home town of Loughborough which I’ll blog about separately with some stall pics.

Today I wanted to share a couple of images of the most beautiful and melancholy little clay character created by a very talented attending artist, Gillian Lee Smith. I’m so lucky to own him and his perfect miniature dwelling.

His limbs are all jointed and he has such a troubled expression on his face – just gorgeous! I wonder if Gillian gave him a name and what his story is?

These characters are a new form of work for Gillian. Her work varies from mixed media paintings to sculptural characters and textile adornments, all inspired by her fascination with dreams and memories and the art of storytelling. Here’s an example of her amazing art dolls, this one is named Madeleine and is currently available in her Etsy shop

To see and read about more of Gillian’s work just follow this link to her blogsite http://gillianleesmith.wordpress.com/

Enjoy 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Melancholy clay characters by Gillian Lee Smith”


  1. 1 averilpam 02/04/2011 at 10:31 pm

    Strangely beautiful!

  2. 2 gillianleesmith 02/04/2011 at 11:14 pm

    oh thank you so much for this! I am so glad you like him and he just looks perfect next to his wee house. Thank you also for sharing the photos – I only finished these wee characters the day before the show so hadn’t managed to photograph them and the ones I took at the town hall didn’t come out so great. Oh and I have decided he is a ‘Christoph’ – the little girl (his sister who I think now belongs to your sister?) is Clara – I shall think on a wee story this week and let you know!


Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,289 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

