Only a mother could love it!

Whilst tidying in the attic room last week (which is where I do my sewing) I noticed just how many odd creatures there are lurking about. These are all creatures that will never make it into the Folksy shop or a craft fair because they’ve all got something a little bit wrong with them… well OK some have quite a lot wrong! So here are some of the ugly souls that I just can’t part with…

Adam & Eve

In the beginning Mr & Mrs Sock Gardener created Adam & Eve, and they saw that they were not that good 😦

Yes, these two were the very first Sock Creatures we made quite a few years ago. Mr Sock Gardener made Adam – the one with the furry pants – cool heh! So of course I can’t part with them as they’re what started my sock creature obsession.

The Tart

I might have had a few wines when I made this one! She’s a bit of a sock combo with hair, boobs and a very curvy figure! Ugly or what?

Mick & Steven

I don’t mind Mick- he’s quite cute in a ‘did I miss something’ kind of way. But Steven… hmmm – he’s made from sock scraps, all of which look hideous together. I keep him on display cos he makes me laugh!

(The little cardboard toilet roll rabbit on the right is something  I made at infant school when I was 4 – that’s over 40 years old!).

Spooky Rabbit

This one is made from charity shop threadbare blanket. When I started making it I thought it was going to be quite cute but then I ended up doing something rather spooky looking with the eyes. I felt a bit sorry for him really so he’s also got a ‘Love Me’ tattoo embroidered on his ear.

Lame Lamb

This little lamb is made from a shrunken pure wool jumper donated to my sister along with a batch of others the same. They used to be part of a cricket team uniform but were full of moth holes when she got them! He’s very wobbly on his legs and is patched up wherever there’s a hole. Poor thing.

Pixie

I used to have two cats, Pixie and Tog. I still have Tog but sweet little Pixie sadly got run over a few years ago. This odd creature is made from the jumper she used to sleep on at the bottom of our bed. 😦

Well that’s enough Oddments for now, there are plenty more where they came from so I might share more another time. 🙂

Share

8 Responses to “Only a mother could love it!”


  1. 1 Cat 06/05/2010 at 6:47 pm

    I just laughed out some of my coffee. The leopard pants started me off, and then Mick and Steven were just too much! Then I misread Lame Lamb, as Shame Lamb…

    Spooky Rabbit is kinda louche / mildly irritated evil, and I hope he does indeed find love, or a good woman (The Tart?) to keep him straight, and non-spooky.

    Fabulous, thank you for sharing!

    I rather like pixie. She’s very cute, and lovely to have a keep sake of your cat.

  2. 2 Top Floor Treasures 06/05/2010 at 7:34 pm

    The fuzzy pants one looks like it’s wearing a leotard and for some reason reminds me of Madonna!

    All the others are very cute, especially Pixie! 🙂

  3. 3 jenny 07/05/2010 at 11:33 am

    I love them all! Spooky Rabbit is a little scary maybe, but I think Lame Lamb is great!

  4. 4 averilpam 07/05/2010 at 2:06 pm

    Spooky rabbit is just plain scary!! I love Pixie, and lame lamb.

  5. 5 Kella 08/05/2010 at 12:41 pm

    Hi just popped in and my eldest recognised your lady sock doll with the purple strips as one of the socks she currently still owns. 🙂

  6. 6 Kella 08/05/2010 at 12:42 pm

    PS I like spooky rabbit.

  7. 7 lynwoodjewelry 11/05/2010 at 7:40 pm

    Shaz you are completely bonkers. But lovely with it. Even the ones that dont make it to your shop are special

    xxx


  1. 1 Tweets that mention Only a mother could love it! « The sock garden -- Topsy.com Trackback on 08/05/2010 at 9:22 pm

Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,290 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

