Knock Knock, who’s there?

What’s your craft background & how did you choose your shop name?

I’ve always loved doing craft, any type – from silk painting to teddy bear making to cross stitch, but one day I discovered beads and fell in love with them and the endless possibilities of working with them.  As for my shop name, Flutterbies, it was actually my sister who came up with that as a take on Butterflies, largely because they’re pretty!

Are you a full time craftsperson or do you have other jobs too?

Wouldn’t I love to be a full time crafter!  But Monday to Friday you can find me in a research lab playing about with chemicals

What was your favourite TV programme as a kid?

I’m having real trouble with this one!  I remember watching Thomas the Tank Engine with my older brothers, and Wizardora and Playdays with my little sister, but can’t remember what I watched!

If you were to be invited to a celebrity’s house for dinner who would it be and what gift(s) would you take them from your shop?

I would love to meet Jennifer Ehle who played Elizabeth Bennett in the 1995 Pride and Prejudice, one of my favourite books, and find out if she’s anything like her character!  I think I would have to take this wintery necklace as it’s a fairly simple but striking design, and this small charm purse because they’re quite unusual – one of a kind like Miss Bennet!

If you were stuck on a desert island and were allowed to take one new crafting project with you based on something you admire in another shop, what would it be?

I’ve always wanted to work with wood but never got round to it, so if I was to have a go at something new I would take inspiration from Boxio, particularly from this lovely flowing jewellery box.

What’s your favourite or most inspirational place?

My favourite favourite place is sitting by the sea at night, I love the sense of power of the ocean and the feeling of insignificance you get sitting there.

What couldn’t you do without? Books: when I’m not crafting I probably have my head stuck in a book!

How do you promote yourself?

I have a blog, I’m on facebook and Twitter, I get everywhere!  My blog is fairly new, but something I’m really enjoying doing.

THANK YOU Katherine for taking part in The Sock Garden Q&A and letting us in on a few of your inspirations.  Now here’s a small selection of some of the lovely pieces of Katherine’s handmade jewellery available at Flutterbies


Share

2 Responses to “Knock Knock, who’s there?”


  1. 1 Olly 21/03/2010 at 11:49 pm

    I love these interviews that you’re doing here on the sock garden! It’s great to find out about other people and what they do, especially when they have another job as well as crafting. Xx

  2. 2 amyorangejuice 24/03/2010 at 11:11 pm

    I think you had better get Percy Grower his own late night chat show! You are becoming a pro interviewer x Oh and loved your folksy friday theme x


Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,288 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

hen brooch

fuschia

amigurumi dogs

More Photos

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

