Knock Knock, Who’s there?

What’s your craft background & how did you choose your shop name?

I started making a few bits of jewellery as a hobby when I was in my teens, and really enjoyed playing with FIMO as well, making little trinkets for people. I spent 2 years at art college and developed a love for sculpture and ceramics, but decided not to pursue this as a career. I carried on making jewellery as a hobby, and then realised that people were actually interested in buying my work, so set up in business in the summer of 2007. I chose the name Lady Luck Jewellery because ‘Lady Luck’ is a well known hot rod/rockabilly scene symbol, and several of my designs have quite a retro 50’s or rockabilly feel to them.

Are you a full time craftsperson or do you have other jobs too?

I still work full time and run Lady Luck Jewellery as a second job, which means that at busy times I can be working 7 days a week, plus putting in a lot of hours in the evening too!!

If someone wrote a biography about you, what do you think the title should be?

Oh wow – that’s a difficult question!! I think the title should probably be something like ‘Double Life’ because as well as being a girly girl and having a love of jewellery and all kinds of glittery things, I’m also one half of a two person drag racing team, and spend my spare time with my hands in greasy engines fixing cars!

If you were to be invited to a celebrity’s house for dinner who would it be and what gift(s) would you take them from your shop?

I’d love to have dinner with Anthony Hopkins, as I find him fascinating, but I doubt if he’d wear my jewellery(!), so to choose a female celebrity it would be Cameron Diaz. I’d take one of my polymer clay hearts for her – I suspect she’d like bright colours!

How do you promote yourself?

I’ve been called a shameless publicity tart on more than one occasion – I seem to be everywhere!! I have shops on Folksy and MISI, as well as my own website. I’ve also recently started to sell through a new shopping site called Gift Wrapped and Gorgeous.

I try to keep up with my blog too, am on Twitter and have a Facebook Group, which I use to keep people up to date with special offers and events!

I get out and about to quite a few craft fairs throughout the year too. I’ve been stung in the past by going to fairs that turned out to be a bit rubbish,  so I try to be a bit more choosy now. I was really pleased recently to find out I’ve been accepted to exhibit with Pennine Fairs, they liked my polymer clay jewellery so I’ll be at their Sywell and Castle Ashby events.

I’m also organising my own event again this year, at the Warwickshire Exhibition Centre – we ran the event for the 1st time last year and it went really well, with exhibitors and public alike. We’re still in the process of getting things set up for this year, but the website is www.craftshoppingexperience.co.uk

If you were stuck on a desert island and were allowed to take one new crafting project with you based on something you admire in another shop, what would it be?

I would love to be able to sew – I can just about manage the odd button or seam on clothing, but that’s my limit, so I’d probably try to make something lovely like this by naturally bohemian – not too ambitious for a first time sewing project!!!

What couldn’t you do without?

Mascara, but cheese comes a close second!

What’s your favourite or most inspirational place?

I love the smaller Greek Ionian islands and feel very much at home there, I just love the people, the food, the scenery, everything about it really. Meganisi is my favourite island, my OH and I try to get over there each year for a week or two if we can.

What was your favourite TV programme as a kid?

Bagpuss – I didn’t even have to think about that. It’s still my fave programme!

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

I think my Dad gives the best advice, and he’s always said to me that you have to find happiness and pleasure in what you’re doing, never just keep going with something that makes you unhappy – it’s not worth it in the end.

What question would you like to ask to yourself? And then answer it if you can!

I’d love to ask myself why my brain sometimes just won’t switch off. I don’t think I can answer that, because if I knew the answer, I could switch it off!!

***************************************

THANK YOU CLAIRE for taking part in The Sock Garden Q&A blog session. It’s been intriguing finding out a bit more about you and your crafting.

To keep up with Claire’s latest projects  just follow any of  her links above and if you spot a piece of jewellery featured here that takes your fancy just head on over to Lady Luck Jewellery at Folksy!

1 Response to “Knock Knock, Who’s there?”


  1. 1 amyorangejuice 17/03/2010 at 11:07 pm

    very interesting, always good to hear about other peoples craft world, and there is lots to talk about in LL’s world!


Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,289 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

