Knock Knock, Who’s there?

What’s your craft background & how did you choose your shop name?

I always liked making things as a child – usually spurred on by my Mum to be honest! She always used to cross-stitch, so I joined her on that, then gradually as I got older I got into customising and making cards. I sort of ‘fell into’ jewellery making – I can’t actually remember when I started exactly, but I’ve been making jewellery for a few years now. I love it.

I named my shop Trinket Box, simply because that pretty much states what it is. Although it obviously isn’t a box, it certainly is full of trinkets!

Are you a full time craftsperson or do you have other jobs too?

Oh I would LOVE to be a full time craftsperson…but, financially speaking, there’s no way I can do it. I work full-time as a children’s nanny. It can be a difficult job, so it’s nice to come home and do something a bit more relaxing [ie make jewellery!].

If someone wrote a biography about you, what do you think the title should be? Franck-ism. That’s the first thing that popped into my head. My surname is Franck, just in case you’re a bit confused!

What was your favourite TV programme as a kid?

Lamb chops play along…although, no one seems to remember it! I also liked Button Moon, The Clangers, Rainbow and The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe [of course].

How do you promote yourself?

Through my blog, Twitter and my Facebook fanpage. I also talk in the folksy forums quite a lot, which I think adds to promotion.

What couldn’t you do without?
Not sure if I could answer that… craft-wise, I’d probably have to let out my inner-magpie and say pretty gemstones…as I work with them a lot, and they’re so beautiful..Otherwise, my wonderful friends and family of course 🙂 [and cuddles].

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given? Always make the most of what you’ve got.

What question would you like to ask to yourself? And answer it if you can! Q: What other things, craft-wise, would you like to try your hand at? A: I’d love to try out resin. It looks like a lot of fun and the possibilities seem endless.

********************************

A big thank you to Sophie for sharing a few personal gems with us. To see more of her latest creations just head on over to The Trinket Box at Folksy. I’ve made purchases from Sophie myself and can highly recommend her friendly personal service and beautiful jewels (the earrings below right are mine so you can’t have them!)

Share

5 Responses to “Knock Knock, Who’s there?”


  1. 1 Sophie 07/03/2010 at 12:15 pm

    Yay, I love it! Thanks so much for putting me in the ‘spotlight’ with these questions, I really enjoyed answering them! I want that little lambchops 🙂
    xx

  2. 2 Teri 07/03/2010 at 4:34 pm

    Nice write up. Always love a look through the window into an artisans life.

  3. 3 Lemon Jitters 07/03/2010 at 5:06 pm

    Lambchops! I remember! Drove my parents crazy singing ‘the song that never ends.’

  4. 4 olly 08/03/2010 at 12:05 am

    Oh I didn’t know this creator! Thanks for publishing this interview, its always interesting to get to know what other people are about!
    Hope you are well Xx

  5. 5 cakesknitsandcosies 11/03/2010 at 11:05 pm

    As one of my favourite bloggers, I have nominated you for a SUNSHINE AWARD! Pop to my blog if you need further details! xxx


Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,290 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

