Who’s through the stained glass window?

What’s your craft background & how did you choose your shop name?

I guess it’s in my blood, my grandmother was a dressmaker and I could knit by the time I was 4. I studied art and textiles at A Level and had every intention of becoming a fashion designer. For some unknown reason I decided to study art instead and completed a degree at Leeds University. This was a mistake as it really shook my confidence in my creativity and I decided to train as an art therapist. Whilst gaining experience to do my MA in art therapy I found a keen interest in mental health issues and retrained as a mental health worker. Craft and art were just a hobby for the next 10 years. I studied stained glass techniques for 2 years from 2003 as an evening class and this totally relit my fire, I found my true love! Friends started commissioning windows, and it all snowballed from there (a very slow snowball which has stopped for children and pregnancy).

My shop name comes from the nick name my dad gave me when I was a child. It just came to me and I haven’t even considered another name since!

Are you a full time craftsperson or do you have other jobs too?

I have a 1 year old and a 4 year old daughter so I am pretty busy between glass and them!

If someone wrote a biography about you, what do you think the title should be?

Heart of glass! I really don’t know.

What was your favourite TV programme as a kid?

Bagpuss, which now my children love too.

If you were to be invited to a celebrity’s house for dinner who would it be and what gift(s) would you take them from your shop?

Oh Johnny Depp please! I would probably take him my Brooding Moor Panel, as it is atmospheric and a little dark and its my best piece, I think.

How do you promote yourself?

I have a website – A blogTwitterFacebook

…and I write for Indie Smiles, so I get advertising through them in return:

I love writing for Indie Smiles, however, on the whole I must say I find the relentless promotion time consuming and a little bit of a faff, mostly because computers smell my fear and take advantage of my weakness!

If you were stuck on a desert island and were allowed to take one new crafting project with you based on something you admire in another shop, what would it be?

I would love to master crochet, I am awful at it! So I think something from Hooked Yarns folksy shop would be great.

What couldn’t you do without? My babies

What’s your favourite or most inspirational place?

Anywhere on the Devon coast. I am so lucky to live in this amazing part of the world and the seaside is my major inspiration

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

Nothing is ever as good or as bad as it at first seems.

What question would you like to ask to yourself? And then answer it if you can!

Q: If you had had a crystal ball 2 years ago and could see what you were doing today would you be surprised?
A: I suffered badly with post natal depression, so yes very! I was so overwhelmed by life the idea of juggling so much work and 2 children I would never have believed it!

***********************

THANKS Amy for chatting with us, it’s alway interesting to find out a bit more about fellow Folksy sellers.

Here’s one of my favourites from Amy’s shop, these are so pretty and remind me of messing about in rockpools with my sis when we were little!

Visit AmyOrangeJuice at Folksy to browse a shopful of other lovely glass pieces.

6 Responses to “Who’s through the stained glass window?”


  1. 1 heather aka NiftyKnits 27/02/2010 at 7:40 pm

    Wha a great piece – and I love the way you st the article out with the offset photos.

  2. 2 amyorangejuice 27/02/2010 at 7:43 pm

    Wow, you have made me look very professional, thanks Shaz x

  3. 3 spangly 27/02/2010 at 9:44 pm

    great article – I love hearing about how other designers got started in their crafts.
    Beautiful and inspiring work Amyorangejuice x

  4. 4 gtlady 28/02/2010 at 10:22 am

    Thank you Shaz and thank you amyorangejuice! Fab article, it is so inspiring to find out how other people started and I have to say I’ve got several of those rockpool brooches and they are as beautiful as they look in the photos!

  5. 5 Carol 02/03/2010 at 9:51 pm

    I have awarded you a sunshire award for your great blog. Collect your award from http://www.cjjewellery.blogspot.com.


  1. 1 My first sunshine award and other exciting news « Amyorangejuice's Blog Trackback on 27/02/2010 at 8:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,290 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

