Knock Knock, who’s there?

What’s your craft background & how did you choose your Folksy shop name, Cinnamon Jewellery?

I taught myself to make basic earrings using wire and glass beads 5 years ago and have now progressed to making wirework jewellery using Sterling Silver and Copper wire. I love all kinds of beads and use Semi-Precious, Lampwork, Swarovski Crystal, glass and Freshwater pearls in my designs. I’m always looking for new techniques to practice and learn. I love wirewrapping so have been practising that recently.

There’s nothing profound behind the name of my shop! I liked the word “cinnamon” so decided that’s what I would call my shop!

Are you a full time craftsperson or do you have other jobs too?

I work part-time as a carer which leaves me lots of time to make jewellery too. I would love to concentrate on jewellery-making full-time. I recently cut down from working full-time to part-time after deciding I could manage on less money and I’ve never been happier!

If someone wrote a biography about you, what do you think the title should be?

“Happily Dying Of Chocolate” ( I am a complete chocoholic!)

What couldn’t you do without?

Jewellery-wise it would be my pliers. And chocolate of course!

If you were stuck on a desert island and were allowed to take one new crafting project with you based on something you admire in another shop, what would it be?

I’d love to be able to sew like Folksy seller Debs of DinkyDaisy! So I’d have to take material and sewing things and bite the bullet ( I hate sewing!)

What’s your favourite or most inspirational place?

I love New York and have been there twice. It’s the sort of place that makes you feel anything is possible.

What was your favourite TV programme as a kid?

The Flintstones. We lived in Canada for a while when I was very young so I was brought up on the Flintstones, Peanut (Snoopy) cartoons and American football!

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

Don’t be too hard on yourself. My Mum used to say this to me as I can be very self-critical.

How do you promote yourself?

I started a blog in November. I also have a website which I use as another way to get my stuff  “out there” and point people to my shop. I don’t sell on there at the moment – too busy making jewellery for Etsy and Folksy!

I join in on the forum on Folksy too. I’m on Facebook and I advertise on http://www.IndieSmiles.com.  I’m also on IndiePublic, byhand.me and UKHandmade.

What question would you like to ask to yourself? And answer it if you can!

Q. What other areas of jewellery making would you like to get into?

A. I would love to try making jewellery with PMC (Precious Metal Clay), silversmithing and learning to make my own Lampwork beads. One day!

********************************

THANK YOU Tracy  for taking part in The Sock Garden Q&A. Follow any of the links above to catch up on Tracy’s latest activities.

Pictured here are my favourites – Watermelon Heart earrings – gorgeous red & green Watermelon Jade hearts teamed with a wrap of Sterling Silver, suspended from pretty handmade Sterling Silver earwires.

3 Responses to “Knock Knock, who’s there?”


  1. 1 Tracy Smith (Cinnamon Jewellery) 21/02/2010 at 10:00 am

    Thanks Shaz, it looks great!
    Tracy x

  2. 2 Debbie 21/02/2010 at 12:48 pm

    Thanks for including a picture and link, great read nice to find out a little more about folksters you chat to on the forums 🙂

  3. 3 Charlotte Hupfield 26/02/2010 at 3:06 pm

    I love your blog interviews! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,290 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

