Knock, Knock, Who’s there?

Let’s pop into ‘Gimme that Thing’ and find out some interesting snippets about Amanda, the talented owner…






What’s your craft background & how did you choose your Folksy shop name Gimme that Thing?

I studied at art college where I was introduced to wood, metal and ceramics as well as textiles.  I ran my own small handknitwear business years ago and learnt that it is very difficult to earn a living from making crafts. I’ve been a ceramicist for 5 years and been mucking about with beads for a few months. My shop name, Gimme that Thing, is so called because of the 1970s upbeat and happy song that was on a loop in my head for days.

Are you a full time craftsperson or do you have other jobs too?

I’m a freelance writer by day, so I work from home, on my bed with the help of two cats. I craft in my spare time when I feel inspired.

If someone wrote your biography, what do you think the title should be?

My Animals and Other Family.

What was your favourite TV programme as a kid?

It’s a toss up between Bewitched, The Man From Uncle, and Mr Ed.

If you were to be invited to a celebrity’s house for dinner who would it be and what gift(s) would you take them from your shop?

I’d be having dinner with lovely Monty Don (and his wife of course!) but I’d have to take him my traditional ceramic plant labels, to encourage him away from rustic crafts and back into the garden where he belongs.

If you were stuck on a desert island and were allowed to take one new crafting project with you based on something you admire in another shop, what would it be?

I’ve always wanted to train as a silversmith, so I’d need a huge trunk full of tools, a life’s supply of silver bits and bobs and plenty of cabochons. Really though, if stuck on a desert island I’d make sure I had knitting needles and a breeding pair of angora rabbits.

What couldn’t you do without?

Air, peanut butter, tea (but not tea bags – I hate tea bags), knitting.

How do you promote yourself?

I’m pretty active on several craft forums both in the UK and US. I occasionally list a new item on Craftjuice although it does not bring much custom my way. I also have a Facebook fan page which takes up at least 2 hours of my time each evening.

What’s your favourite or most inspirational place?

The small Greek islands of Skopelos and Alonissos are so picturesque with those little white houses and narrow winding streets that are timeless, but my favourite place in the whole world has to be Jamaica. Get away from the touristy resorts and start chatting to local folk and you have the most genuine people I have ever met. There is great music everywhere you go and nobody is self conscious about grooving to it in the street. Jamaica is the only place I ever felt I belonged.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

Don’t give up your day job and never say ‘no’ to a commission.

What question would you like to ask yourself? And then answer it if you can!

Q: What profession do you wish you had trained for, but didn’t consider when you left school? A: A plumber or car mechanic because I love getting my hands dirty and there’s always plenty of work.

*********************

THANK YOU Amanda for letting us have a little nose into your craftiness! What a marvellous thought having all those soft bunnies running riot on your desert island!

If you’d like to see more of Amanda’s work and catch up with her latest projects just follow the links below:

FacebookFacebook FanpageFolksy shop –  Zibbet shopBlogspot

0 Responses to “Knock, Knock, Who’s there?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,290 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

