Knock Knock, Who’s there?

VINTAGE MILLY

Recently Vintage Milly won a little blog competition I was running so what better opportunity to find out a little more about the lady behind the name…


What’s your craft background & how did you choose your name?

My craft background tee hee – didn’t we all start with Blue Peter? I have always had the desire to turn my hands to anything and everything, from pottery, painting, photography, crochet, sewing, cardmaking, jewellery making. I would love to go to Uni to study art but it will be an aim for the future.

The meaning behind the name is that I like ‘old’ things and I love to take inspiration from things that I find and collect and use that in my crafting, I am a bit of a magpie and love rekindling old finds into fab new stuff so, I guess the vintage bit is about me. My Grans’ name was Molly but that name was already taken as a business so hence came the Milly bit.

Are you a full time craftsperson or do you have other jobs too?

I have hopes that I will venture into full time crafting some time in the future, I am just a little fledgling at the mo and have a long way to go yet.

If someone wrote a biography about you, what do you think the title should be? She loved, she dreamed and she damn well conquered.

What was your favourite TV programme as a kid?

Do I have to choose just one? …hmm …oh no, I just can’t. Grange Hill, Tiswas, Crackerjack – oooh I could rip a tissue!, Rainbow, Moomins, Wonderwoman, The A Team, Runaround, The Magic Roundabout, That singing n dancing programme with Emu and the green witch – forgot the name though. Aaah luverly memories.

If you were to be invited to a celebrity’s house for dinner who would it be and what gifts would you take them?

If I could go back in time I would like to go for dinner with the Marchesa Luisa Casati. I just love the apparent utter wildness of her life. She was once the richest woman in Italy and had palaces in Venice and Paris although through her ruthless spending she died penniless. It is reported that she arrived at a party flanked and fanned by nude male models as she paraded two pet cheetahs on diamond encrusted leashes. I just think it would be amazing to take a peek in her wardrobe and try on some of her jewellery.

As for my gift… it would just have to be a custom jewellery make, so, I would be completely free to create something wild to spark controversy when worn.

If you were stuck on a desert island and were allowed to take one new crafting project with you based on something you admire in another Folksy shop, what would it be?

I have so much admiration for the skills of the people and their craft in Folksy but I think it would have to be that I would like to be able to knit, I can never get the hang of it. Being stuck on a desert island I’d have no choice but to master it. Then I’d knit a load of cakes, some HooterNinnies of course to keep me company, and a blanket to keep out the chills at night – sorted!

Fabulous knitted cake patterns available at CakesKnitsandCosies

What couldn’t you do without?

Lap top, internet, paper, perfume, jewellery, chocolate, cake and coffee, but if crunch came to crunch, in all honesty I would say my friends, family and my boyfriend cos without them the world would not be quite as bright.

What’s your favourite or most inspirational place?

My favourite place is yet to be found but, my most inspirational place I guess has to be a library. Without books, I wouldn’t be as informed nor inspired as I am today but the best bit is – that with every book read comes a little bit extra knowledge, a little bit extra insight and a little bit extra understanding – it never ends.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

‘You can be whatever you want to be, you just have to work hard’. This was said to me as a child and stuck. I felt it was empowering yet grounding in that you can choose your own walk in life, everything can be possible but nothing comes for free, effort and hard work is always required.

What question would you like to ask to yourself? And then answer it if you can! Q: Do you ever take a breath? A: yes ……aaaah.






Thank you Em, great answers! Only downside is I can’t get that damned Rainbow tune out of my head now!

You can visit Vintage Milly at Folksy, on her blogspot, on Twitter and Flickr

2 Responses to “Knock Knock, Who’s there?”


  1. 1 Vintagemilly 13/02/2010 at 12:20 pm

    Hi Shaz,
    I love it, thanks so much, the pics are great, you are a star.
    much love,
    Em.x

  2. 2 CakesKnitsandCosies 13/02/2010 at 12:42 pm

    What a great interview – I loved the moomins too. I also loved a prgramme called HR Puffinstuff – does anyone remember it from the 70’s. It had the guy who played the artful dodger in Oliver and a witch and some strange creatures. It was all a bit bizarre…. Showing my age now.

    I’m honoured to to included – thanks Vintage Milly and Shaz. xx


Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,289 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

hen brooch

fuschia

amigurumi dogs

More Photos

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

