Oscar’s Alien Sock Creature

A few months ago I did my first craft fair. I was really nervous and didn’t know what to expect. I roped my little sis Lou into helping me and we had a brilliant day! My 7 year old nephew Oscar kept popping by with his Dad to see how much money was in the pot and helped encourage people to spend money by asking ‘is there anything on the stall you’d like to buy?’. Good lad!

Anyway, the day after the event Oscar decided he’d like to design his own sock creature. I told him I’d make it up for him. I feel a bit bad that it’s taken so long but I think the result is quite a good likeness! I hope Oscar thinks so.

I might ask him to do some more designs for me, it’s quite exciting trying to interpret someone elses idea for a change.

Here’s the pic of Oscar’s original design work showing ‘SockoMow’ the alien sock creature and his little pink eyed travelling companion.

Alien design

And here’s the sewn up versions!

Design and Aliens

Real AliensWell, I’d best wrap the pair of them up and get them off in the post to Oscar – I expect he’ll want to show his Grandma and Grandpa his design work!

6 Responses to “Oscar’s Alien Sock Creature”


  1. 1 KittyNoir 21/06/2009 at 7:41 pm

    A gorgeous design from Oscar and I think you brought the design to life beautifully.
    Well done, both of you! I hope he loves his new buddies! I know that I do!

    You two make a great sock creature team! You should work together more often!

    Love Kitty xXx

  2. 2 Nic 21/06/2009 at 9:31 pm

    That’s ace!! I hope Oscar loves it.

  3. 3 clarabows 21/06/2009 at 10:26 pm

    Awww it looks excellent, really cute. 🙂

  4. 4 Hotdogandme 22/06/2009 at 2:18 pm

    You did it!! I have been looking forward to you getting a blog and I wasn’t dissapointed. It’s brilliant. Am very jealous and wish I had used wordpress. Had a quick look this morning and couldn’t figure any of it out. Well done and keep up the excellent work.
    Chantal
    x

  5. 5 HerePrettyKitty 22/06/2009 at 5:12 pm

    Me again, in my other guise. Just wanted to let you know that I have passed on a blog award to you. Check out my blog to see what you have to do to accept it.
    Chantal
    http://hereprettykitty.blogspot.com/

  6. 6 haptree 17/07/2009 at 12:50 pm

    I think there would be a big market for translating kids drawings into real creatures, have you done it before? Well either way you should be doing that if you aren’t already – you could actually have it as a fixed price item on your folksy shop rather than just saying you accept commissions, people could just email you the drawings… I love the tag, designed by oscar, handmade by oddsox – you could make a real feature of that on the shop photos. I’m sure there would be plenty of us folksy folk who’d send in kids drawings for you to use for marketing purposes although looks like oscar would have that covered!

    Sorry got on a bit of a ramble there!


Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

28th & 29th November 2015 - Yew Tree Garden Centre - Ball Hill - Newbury - 10:30am to 4:30pm - FREE ENTRY

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,289 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

