Homemade Lemon Curd

I had a hankering to get the ice cream maker out last weekend to make something to complement a very rich chocolate cake I planned on baking.

I came across a really easy Lemon Curd Ice Cream recipe over at No Fear Entertaining blogspot and decided I’d also have a go at making the Lemon Curd too. I’ve never tried curd or jam making before so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect but as it was called a ‘no fail recipe’ I thought I might as well give it a go. I’d definitely recommend it – it looks and tastes fabulous! It really was an easy recipe to follow and slowly stirring it  into a thick silky curd was very relaxing!

I found the Lemon Curd recipe on the Big Fat Baker website. I used 3 lemons and 1 lime in my version and it filled the 2 jars shown in the pic with a mini pot extra.

I used one whole jar for the Ice Cream and the second jar is being eaten on toast and will probably get finished with a batch of homemade scones.

I even whisked up a tray of meringues with the left over egg whites which are now in the freezer along with a pot full of blackberries from a blackberry picking trip yesterday. I found a Berry Eton Mess recipe on the Good Food Channel site so I think I’ll try that out – I liked the idea of having a combination of greek yoghurt with the cream.

The Lemon Curd Ice Cream is just the right balance of tartness and creaminess and not too sweet to be a perfect match for the rich chocolate cake. It was rich in that 3 x 100g bars of 70% cocoa dark chocolate kind of a way! Oops & Yum at the same time! :)

7 Responses to “Homemade Lemon Curd”


  1. 1 Lynn Holland 15/08/2012 at 5:18 pm

    Looks and sounds yummy.
    I make Delia Smiths ice cream, you don’t need an ice cream maker.
    I make a big bowl of vanilla then divide it into smaller containers and add different flavours, cinnamon, ginger, meringue, treacle, strawberry. I use all the low fat varieties of the easy ingredients list. Fromage Frais, Single Cream and condensed milk.
    Need to go and eat some now ……
    Lynn-:)

    • 2 thesockgarden 15/08/2012 at 5:35 pm

      Haha Lynn – I might have to have a small scoop quite soon too! Love the idea of ginger ice cream, that would go well with the Lemon Curd, come to think of it so would meringue :)

  2. 3 Erin 15/08/2012 at 5:19 pm

    I am so glad you liked the curd! It’s a great recipe and definitely an addicting product ;)

  3. 4 Erin 15/08/2012 at 5:28 pm

    I am so glad you liked the recipe!! This is a super easy and addictive one – perfect for a quick fix ;) Your jars are so cute too!

  4. 5 ruthkeys 16/08/2012 at 7:25 am

    Your post left my mouth watering!! Chocolate cake and lemon curd ice cream – I now need to go shopping and buy the ingredients. :)

  5. 6 helen @ forty percent fringe: sixty percent face 16/08/2012 at 8:45 am

    Yummy! I absolutely love making lemon curd and it tastes a thousand times better than shop-bought :) I am making lemon curd cake this week with swiss meringue buttercream, mmmmm. My ma makes lemon curd ice-cream, I’ve never got round to giving her recipe a go but think I will now.. Hx

  6. 7 gold price 24/08/2012 at 5:57 pm

    I tried for the first time today a Lemon Curd Cake – and it was fantastic. So fresh and lemony, and rich yet light at the same time. I wonder if anyone has a recipe for something similar that they would be willing to share. At first I thought it was like a very light cheesecake but I’m not certain it had cream cheese in it. You couldn’t see the lemon curd as in layers or icing so I guess it was mixed right in to the batter. If you know what I’m talking about (or trying to describe to you in a not so very good way) please help. I am desparate. It was soooooooo good and I would love to make one for a dinner party next weekend.


Leave a Reply

Visit my OddSox shop

Folksy

CRAFT FAIRS:

TO BE CONFIRMED

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,281 other followers

OddSoxUK on Flickr

hen brooch

fuschia

amigurumi dogs

More Photos

Twitter Updates

Follow Me on Pinterest
Folksy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,281 other followers

